Major League Baseball All-Star Game Home Run Derby Champions

The Winners Throughout the History of the Home Run Derby from 1985 to Present

Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies celebrates after winning the CENTURY 21 Home Run Derby at the MLB All-Star Game 2006
Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies celebrates after winning the CENTURY 21 Home Run Derby at the MLB All-Star Game 2006. Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images Sport/Getty Images

Unlike the basic rules of baseball, home run derby guidelines have changed frequently since the event started in the mid-1980s. The basic idea has revolved around a group of players, usually four from each league (although some years had five), competing to hit home runs. A player's turn is over once they have made a predetermined number of  "outs," which are all hits that don't clear the fence. The number of outs has fluctuated over the years, between seven and 10, with some rounds allowing only five.

The players with the most home runs continue to the next round. 

How the Rules of the Home Run Derby Have Changed

In 2015, the rules changed, doing away with the concept of "outs" and making the event about who can hit the most homers in a 5-minute span. It became a single elimination tournament with eight seeded players who are paired off. In the first round, the players ranked #1 and #8 compete, as does #2 against #7, #3 against #6, and #4 against #5. In the second round, the four winners of the first round pair off and compete. The two winners of the second round compete in the third round and the winner is crowned.

Winners of the Home Run Derby

YearPlayerTeamCity, Stadium
2016Giancarlo StantonMiami Marlins(San Diego, Petco Park)
2015Todd FrazierCincinnati Reds(Cincinnati, Great American Ball Park)
2014Yoenis CespedesOakland Athletics(Minneapolis, Target Field)
2013Yoenis CespedesOakland Athletics(New York, Citi Field)
2012Prince FielderDetroit Tigers(Kansas City, Kauffman Stadium)
2011Robinson CanoNew York Yankees(Phoenix, Chase Field)
2010David OrtizBoston Red Sox(Anaheim, Calif., Angel Stadium)
2009Prince FielderMilwaukee Brewers(St. Louis, Busch Stadium)
2008Justin MorneauMinnesota Twins(New York, Yankee Stadium)
2007Vladimir GuerreroLos Angeles Angels(San Francisco, AT&T Park)
2006Ryan HowardPhiladelphia Phillies(Pittsburgh, PNC Park)
2005Bobby AbreuPhiladelphia Phillies(Detroit, Comerica Park)
2004Miguel TejadaBaltimore Orioles(Houston, Minute Maid Park)
2003Garret AndersonAnaheim Angels(Chicago, U.S. Cellular Field)
2002Jason GiambiNew York Yankees (Milwaukee, Miller Park)
2001Luis GonzalezArizona Diamondbacks(Seattle, Safeco Field)
2000Sammy SosaChicago Cubs(Atlanta, Turner Field)
1999Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle Mariners(Boston, Fenway Park)
1998Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle Mariners(Denver, Coors Field)
1997Tino MartinezNew York Yankees(Cleveland, Jacobs Field)
1996Barry BondsSan Francisco Giants(Philadelphia, Veterans Stadium)
1995Frank ThomasChicago White Sox(Texas, The Ballpark in Arlington)
1994Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle Mariners(Pittsburgh, Three Rivers Stadium)
1993Juan GonzalezTexas Rangers(Baltimore, Camden Yards)
1992Mark McGwireOakland Athletics(San Diego, Jack Murphy Stadium)
1991Cal RipkenBaltimore Orioles(Toronto, SkyDome)
1990Ryne SandbergChicago Cubs(Chicago, Wrigley Field)
1989Ruben SierraTexas Rangers(Anaheim, Anaheim Stadium)
1988Rained out (Cincinnati, Riverfront Stadium)
1987Andre DawsonChicago Cubs(Oakland, Oakland Coliseum)
1986*Wally JoynerChicago Cubs(Houston, Astrodome)
Darryl StrawberryNew York Mets
1985Dave ParkerCincinnati Reds(Minneapolis, Metrodome)

Note: Before 1991, the game was played as a two-inning event, which allowed for the possibility of ties, which was seen in 1986 with a tie between Wally Joyner and Darryl Strawberry.