Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship on the European Tour

Martin Kaymer of Germany with the winners trophy after the final round of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club on January 23, 2011
Martin Kaymer with the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship trophy following his third victory in 2011. Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

The Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship is a tournament on the European Tour schedule that has been played since 2006. The Abu Dhabi tournament is typically the first of several consecutive weeks of European Tour play in the Persian Gulf region, during the early part of the Euro Tour schedule. Of the Euro Tour's "Desert Swing" tournaments, this is the youngest.

2020 Tournament
Lee Westwood fired a final-round 67 to win this tournament by two strokes. His final score was 19-under 269. The three tied in second place were Matthew Fitzpatrick, Tommy Fleetwood and Victor Perez. It was Westwood's 25th career win on the European Tour.

2019 Abu Dhabi Championship

Shane Lowry opened with a tournament-record-tying 62 in the first round, then closed it out with a one-stroke victory. Lowry finished at 18-under 270, one ahead of runner-up Richard Sterne. Lowry finished with a birdie on the final hole. It was his fourth career win on the European Tour.

2018 Tournament
Tommy Fleetwood repeated as champion, becoming the event's second-ever back-to-back winner. Martin Kaymer won two in a row in 2010-11. Fleetwood was in third place when the final round began, but his 65 was good enough to push him to a 2-stroke victory. He finished at 22-under 266. Ross Fisher was the runner-up. Third-round leader Rory McIlroy shot 70 in Round 4 and finished tied for third place.

Official Tournament Web site

European Tour tournament site

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship Records

  • 72 holes: 264 - Martin Kaymer, 2011
  • 18 holes: 62 - Henrik Stenson, 2006; Shane Lowry, 2019

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship Golf Courses

The tournament has been played at the same course each year of its existence: Abu Dhabi Golf Club. A carpet of green surrounded by desert, the course is a par-72. The club also has an additional nine holes.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship Trivia and Notes

  • The tournament was first played in 2006 after its creation by the Abu Dhabi Tourism Authority. HSBC joined as title sponsor for the 2011 tournament.
  • Chris DiMarco was the tournament's first winner.
  • Martin Kaymer and Paul Casey traded victories from 2007 through 2010, each winning twice, and in alternating years (Casey in 2007 and 2009, Kaymer in 2008 and 2010). But Kaymer added a third victory in 2011.
  • In 2010, Kaymer tied Casey's then-tournament record final score of 267. In his 2011 win, Kaymer established the new record of 264.
  • The Abu Dhabi Golf Championship's trophy is easily recognizable and, some would argue, one of the coolest in golf. Known as the Falcon Trophy, it shows a falcon alighting (or perhaps taking flight from or with) on a golf ball.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship Winners

2020 - Lee Westwood, 269
2019 - Shane Lowry, 270
2018 - Tommy Fleetwood, 266
2017 - Tommy Fleetwood, 271
2016 - Rickie Fowler, 272
2015 - Gary Stal, 269
2014 - Pedro Larrazabal, 274
2013 - Jamie Donaldson, 274
2012 - Robert Rock, 275
2011 - Martin Kaymer, 264
2010 - Martin Kaymer, 267
2009 - Paul Casey, 267
2008 - Martin Kaymer, 273
2007 - Paul Casey, 271
2006 - Chris DiMarco, 268