2019 PGA Championship: Second Win In a Row for Koepka

Brooks Koepka celebrates winning the 2019 PGA Championship.
Brooks Koepka celebrates winning the 2019 PGA Championship.

David Cannon/Getty Images


Brooks Koepka made it two in a row, winning his second consecutive Wanamaker Trophy. He set scoring records at the start of the tournament, then held on at the end.

Quick Bits

  • Winner: Brooks Koepka, 272 (scores below)
  • Dates: May 16-19, 2019
  • Golf Course: Bethpage Black
  • Tournament number: This was the 101st PGA Championship.

Koepka opened the tournament with a 63 in the first round, tying the PGA Championship's 18-hole scoring record. A 65 in the second round left him at 128, a new tournament record for 36 holes.

In the third round, Koepka was even-par 70, good enough to take a 7-stroke lead. That was the largest 54-hole lead in PGA Championship history. It appeared all Koepka needed to do in the final round to win was show up.

It wound up being slightly more difficult than that: As Dustin Johnson made a move, Koepka stumbled, and his lead was down to a single stroke at one point on the back nine. Koepka made five bogeys on the back nine, including four in a row at one point.

But in blustery winds and tough scoring conditions, Johnson dropped some shots himself. Koepka wound up shooting 74 in the last round and his margin of victory over Johnson was two strokes.

Koepka joined Tiger Woods (who missed the cut) as the only back-to-back winners in this major's stroke play era. Koepka also, at PGA tournament time, was the holder of consecutive wins in the U.S. Open. He thus became the first golfer ever to hold back-to-back titles in two different majors simultaneously.

Final Scores of the 2019 PGA Championship

Results from the 2019 PGA Championship golf tournament played at the par-70 Bethpage State Park (Black Course) in Farmingdale, N.Y.:

Brooks Koepka, 63-65-70-74—272
Dustin Johnson, 69-67-69-69—274
Jordan Spieth, 69-66-72-71—278
Patrick Cantlay, 69-70-68-71—278
Matt Wallace, 69-67-70-72—278
Luke List, 68-68-69-74—279
Sung Kang, 68-70-70-72—280
Gary Woodland, 70-70-73-68—281
Matt Kuchar, 70-70-72-69—281
Rory McIlroy, 72-71-69-69—281
Shane Lowry, 75-69-68-69—281
Erik van Rooyen, 70-68-70-73—281
Adam Scott, 71-64-72-74—281
Chez Reavie, 68-71-71-72—282
Jazz Janewattananond, 70-68-67-77—282
Brandt Snedeker, 74-67-73-69—283
Mike Lorenzo-Vera, 68-71-75-69—283
Abraham Ancer, 73-70-69-71—283
Lucas Bjerregaard, 71-69-70-73—283
Lucas Glover, 72-69-69-73—283
Xander Schauffele, 70-69-68-76—283
Hideki Matsuyama, 70-68-68-77—283
Thomas Pieters, 74-70-71-69—284
Jason Kokrak, 73-70-71-70—284
Billy Horschel, 70-72-71-71—284
Emiliano Grillo, 76-67-70-71—284
Jason Day, 69-74-69-72—284
Jimmy Walker, 70-70-71-73—284
Paul Casey, 70-71-75-69—285
Graeme McDowell, 70-72-73-70—285
Keegan Bradley, 70-70-73-72—285
Webb Simpson, 72-69-72-72—285
Adam Hadwin, 72-70-70-73—285
Sam Burns, 70-72-69-74—285
Justin Rose, 70-67-73-75—285
Beau Hossler, 72-69-77-68—286
Li Haotong, 73-69-70-74—286
Danny Lee, 64-74-71-77—286
Rickie Fowler, 69-69-71-77—286
Harold Varner III, 71-67-67-81—286
Matthew Fitzpatrick, 75-65-76-71—287
Charles Howell III, 72-67-73-75—287
Aaron Wise, 70-71-71-75—287
Kiradech Aphibarnrat, 76-68-68-75—287
Adam Long, 73-70-69-75—287
Scott Piercy, 72-67-72-76—287
Danny Willett, 71-70-69-77—287
Henrik Stenson, 74-68-75-71—288
Kelly Kraft, 71-65-78-74—288
Bronson Burgoon, 73-66-74-75—288
Francesco Molinari, 72-68-73-75—288
Tyrrell Hatton, 71-69-72-76—288
Tommy Fleetwood, 67-71-72-78—288
Charley Hoffman, 73-69-75-72—289
Justin Harding, 74-70-73-72—289
Alexander Noren, 73-69-74-73—289
Cameron Champ, 72-71-73-73—289
J.J. Spaun, 72-72-70-75—289
Zach Johnson, 71-69-73-76—289
Ross Fisher, 74-67-77-72—290
Rob Labritz, 75-69-74-72—290
J.T. Poston, 77-67-71-75—290
Louis Oosthuizen, 70-68-73-79—290
Max Homa, 70-71-79-71—291
Joost Luiten, 72-72-77-70—291
Corey Conners, 72-72-76-71—291
Kurt Kitayama, 74-68-77-72—291
Cameron Smith, 73-70-74-74—291
Thorbjorn Olesen, 73-70-71-77—291
Tony Finau, 70-73-69-79—291
David Lipsky, 70-74-77-71—292
Rafael Cabrera Bello, 75-69-74-74—292
Lucas Herbert, 74-70-73-75—292
Phil Mickelson, 69-71-76-76—292
Daniel Berger, 70-66-78-78—292
Joel Dahmen, 70-72-71-79—292
Kevin Tway, 73-70-76-74—293
Andrew Putnam, 74-70-75-75—294
Pat Perez, 68-73-76-77—294
Rich Beem, 75-69-82-69—295
Ryan Vermeer, 70-74-72-79—295
Marty Jertson, 72-69-79-79—299