2019 British Open: Shane Lowry Wins It

Ireland's Shane Lowry poses with the Claret Jug after winning the 2019 Open Championship.

Glyn Kirk/AFP/Getty Images


Shane Lowry of Ireland won the 2019 Open Championship, which was the first one in 68 years to take place in Northern Ireland.

Lowry carded a final-round 72, one-over par, but was never in danger during the final round. He ran away to a six-stroke victory over runner-up Tommy Fleetwood, who entered the final day in second place and remained there.

The Open hadn't take place in Northern Ireland since 1951, when it was played at Royal Portrush. That was the host venue again in 2019.

Lowry's closing 72 marked the first time since 1996 that the British Open winner was over-par in the final round. But in the worst weather of the week, which included rain and strong winds, the bogeys Lowry made on the back nine didn't matter. And Lowry's place in the first three rounds — his 197 was the lowest opening 54-hole total in Open history — gave him plenty of cushion.

It was the first major championship win for Lowry, who first made headlines in pro golf by winning the European Tour's Irish Open in 2009 while still an amateur. This victory counted as Lowry's second PGA Tour win and his fifth European Tour win.

Final Scores of the 2019 Open Championship

Final scores of the 2019 Open played at Royal Portrush Golf Club (par-71) in Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland:

Shane Lowry, 67-67-63-72—269
Tommy Fleetwood, 68-67-66-74—275
Tony Finau, 68-70-68-71—277
Lee Westwood, 68-67-70-73—278
Brooks Koepka, 68-69-67-74—278
Robert MacIntyre, 68-72-71-68—279
Tyrrell Hatton, 68-71-71-69—279
Danny Willett, 74-67-65-73—279
Rickie Fowler, 70-69-66-74—279
Patrick Reed, 71-67-71-71—280
Francesco Molinari, 74-69-72-66—281
Tom Lewis, 75-68-68-70—281
Justin Thomas, 71-70-68-72—281
Alexander Noren, 68-71-68-74—281
Jon Rahm, 68-70-68-75—281
Ryan Fox, 68-75-70-69—282
Lucas Bjerregaard, 70-68-74-70—282
Rory Sabbatini, 70-70-71-71—282
Sang-hyun Park, 69-72-68-73—282
Louis Oosthuizen, 70-72-72-69—283
Stewart Cink, 74-68-71-70—283
Doc Redman, 71-71-71-70—283
Lucas Glover, 72-69-71-71—283
Erik van Rooyen, 70-68-72-73—283
Matthew Fitzpatrick, 71-69-70-73—283
Cameron Smith, 70-66-71-76—283
Henrik Stenson, 70-69-68-76—283
Jordan Spieth, 70-67-69-77—283
Justin Rose, 69-67-68-79—283
Kevin Kisner, 70-71-70-73—284
Webb Simpson, 68-71-71-74—284
Kiradech Aphibarnrat, 68-73-77-67—285
Jason Kokrak, 74-69-74-68—285
Bernd Wiesberger, 70-71-74-70—285
Andrew Wilson, 76-67-71-71—285
Joost Luiten, 73-69-71-72—285
Ernie Els, 71-69-72-73—285
Byeong-Hun An, 73-67-70-75—285
Andrew Putnam, 70-67-70-78—285
Dylan Frittelli, 68-69-70-78—285
Callum Shinkwin, 70-71-75-70—286
Kyle Stanley, 75-67-73-71—286
Benjamin Hebert, 73-69-73-71—286
Inn-choon Hwang, 72-71-70-73—286
Aaron Wise, 72-69-71-74—286
Patrick Cantlay, 70-71-71-74—286
Justin Harding, 71-65-74-76—286
Russell Knox, 70-71-68-77—286
Xander Schauffele, 74-65-69-78—286
Matt Kuchar, 70-68-69-79—286
Shubhankar Sharma, 70-72-77-68—287
Branden Grace, 70-71-75-71—287
Bubba Watson, 72-71-73-71—287
Matt Wallace, 73-70-72-72—287
Charley Hoffman, 70-73-70-74—287
Dustin Johnson, 72-67-72-76—287
Ashton Turner, 69-74-77-68—288
Thorbjorn Olesen, 72-68-77-71—288
Kevin Streelman, 77-65-74-72—288
Paul Casey, 72-70-73-73—288
Adam Hadwin, 74-69-72-73—288
Graeme McDowell, 73-70-68-77—288
Paul Waring, 75-68-75-71—289
Jim Furyk, 73-68-75-73—289
Mikko Korhonen, 72-69-71-77—289
Romain Langasque, 69-72-70-78—289
Thomas Pieters, 72-68-74-76—290
Yosuke Asaji, 72-71-71-76—290
Sergio Garcia, 68-73-71-78—290
J.B. Holmes, 66-68-69-87—290
Eddie Pepperell, 70-72-76-74—292
Nino Bertasio, 72-71-75-75—293
Yuki Inamori, 70-73-70-80—293