2018 US Open: Brooks Koepka Wins Back-to-Back

Brooks Koepka displays the trophy after winning the 2018 U.S. Open golf tournament.
2018 U.S. Open champion Brooks Koepka with the trophy. Andrew Redington/Getty Images  

Brooks Koepka won the 2018 U.S. Open by a single stroke, becoming the first golfer since Curtis Strange and just the third in the post-World War II era to win this tournament back-to-back.

At the 2017 U.S. Open, Koepka's victory was by four strokes and he finished at 272. This year, on the treacherous and dried-out Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, Koepka finished at 1-over par.

In addition to Koepka in 2017-18, the only back-to-back U.S. Open champs since 1946 are Ben Hogan (1950-51) and Strange (1988-89).

Koepka is the eighth tournament winner overall to claim consecutive trophies.

Koepka scored 68 in the final round. But the runner-up, Tommy Fleetwood, tied the U.S. Open scoring record in the final round with a 63.

Final Scores of the 2018 U.S. Open

Results from the 2018 U.S. Open golf tournament played at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club (par-70) in Southampton, N.Y. (a-amateur):

Brooks Koepka75-66-72-68—281$2,160,000
Tommy Fleetwood75-66-78-63—282$1,296,000
Dustin Johnson69-67-77-70—283$812,927
Patrick Reed73-72-71-68—284$569,884
Tony Finau75-72-66-72—285$474,659
Xander Schauffele72-74-72-68—286$361,923
Tyrrell Hatton75-70-72-69—286$361,923
Henrik Stenson71-70-74-71—286$361,923
Daniel Berger76-71-66-73—286$361,923
Webb Simpson76-71-71-69—287$270,151
Justin Rose71-70-73-73—287$270,151
Russell Knox73-71-75-69—288$221,825
Matthew Fitzpatrick73-70-75-70—288$221,825
Zach Johnson73-73-72-70—288$221,825
Kiradech Aphibarnrat76-72-68-73—289$190,328
Hideki Matsuyama75-70-79-66—290$163,435
Louis Oosthuizen74-72-75-69—290$163,435
Li Haotong79-68-74-69—290$163,435
Paul Casey73-73-73-71—290$163,435
Rickie Fowler73-69-84-65—291$122,387
Steve Stricker73-75-73-70—291$122,387
Charley Hoffman71-69-77-74—291$122,387
Dylan Meyer77-69-71-74—291$122,387
Brian Gay73-74-70-74—291$122,387
Jason Dufner70-74-79-69—292$79,200
Aaron Baddeley74-72-77-69—292$79,200
Matthieu Pavon71-77-74-70—292$79,200
Alexander Noren72-72-77-71—292$79,200
Charles Howell III71-72-77-72—292$79,200
Russell Henley69-73-77-73—292$79,200
Francesco Molinari75-72-72-73—292$79,200
Justin Thomas74-70-74-74—292$79,200
Bryson DeChambeau76-69-73-74—292$79,200
Branden Grace76-69-72-75—292$79,200
Ian Poulter69-72-76-75—292$79,200
Brian Harman74-70-78-71—293$54,054
Bill Haas76-72-74-71—293$54,054
Pat Perez73-71-77-72—293$54,054
Rafael Cabrera Bello73-71-76-73—293$54,054
Gary Woodland79-69-70-75—293$54,054
Patrick Rodgers72-72-83-67—294$43,028
Sam Burns71-76-75-72—294$43,028
Jhonattan Vegas76-72-73-73—294$43,028
Ryan Fox73-72-74-75—294$43,028
Patrick Cantlay75-71-76-73—295$34,716
Marc Leishman74-69-78-74—295$34,716
Scott Piercy69-71-79-76—295$34,716
Phil Mickelson77-69-81-69—296$27,952
Tim Wilkinson76-72-78-70—296$27,952
Ross Fisher76-71-79-70—296$27,952
a-Luis Gagne73-74-75-74—296 
Peter Uihlein75-72-75-74—296$27,952
a-Matt Parziale74-73-74-75—296 
Brandt Snedeker72-76-73-75—296$27,952
Jim Furyk73-71-72-80—296$27,952
Tyler Duncan77-67-81-72—297$25,426
Mickey DeMorat72-72-80-73—297$25,426
Jimmy Walker75-70-79-73—297$25,426
Dean Burmester75-73-75-74—297$25,426
Chris Naegel73-73-75-76—297$25,426
Calum Hill75-69-81-73—298$24,629
Andrew Johnston73-73-82-71—299$24,448
Brendan Steele72-73-75-80—300$24,203
Cameron Wilson75-73-76-77—301$23,959
Kevin Chappell75-72-78-77—302$23,714
a-Will Grimmer73-72-78-80—303 
Byeong Hun An71-76-81-78—306$23,470

Previous US Opens at Shinnecock Hills

Shinnecock Hills is one of the five founding clubs of the United States Golf Association. It is a private club that dates its origins to 1891. Here are the years and champions of U.S. Opens previously played at this golf course:

  • 1896 - James Foulis
  • 1986 - Raymond Floyd

The 1896 tournament was the second U.S. Open played. The club was also the site of the U.S. Amateur that year, and hosted the Walker Cup in 1977.