2009 Presidents Cup

Tiger Woods
Tiger Woods was a perfect 5-0-0 in the 2009 Presidents Cup. Stuart Franklin / Getty Images

USA 19.5, International 14.5:

Team USA won the 2009 Presidents Cup behind the great records of four players: Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Steve Stricker and Anthony Kim. Between them, those four team members lost only two matches; Woods (5-0-0) and Mickelson (4-0-1) were unbeaten during the competition.

Conversely, Retief Goosen (0-3-1) and Camilo Villegas (0-4-0) struggled for Team International.

Still, this Presidents Cup was tight the first two days, with the U.S. leading by one point following six foursomes matches and six fourballs. The Americans added two more points to the lead after Day 3, and led 12.5 to 9.5 going into the Sunday singles.

Any hope for an International rally in singles evaporated in the first four matches, in which the USA earned 3.5 of a possible 4 points. With the victory, Team USA took a 6-1-1 leadin the overall Presidents Cup series.

Final Score: USA 19.5, International 14.5
Site: Harding Park Golf Course, San Francisco, California
Captains: International - Greg Norman; USA - Fred Couples

Team Members
• International: Mike Weir, Tim Clark, Adam Scott, Ernie Els, Vijay Singh, Robert Allenby, Angel Cabrera, Camilo Villegas, Ryo Ishikawa, Geoff Ogilvy, Retief Goosen, Y.E. Yang
• USA: Phil Mickelson, Anthony Kim, Hunter Mahan, Sean O'Hair, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink, Kenny Perry, Zach Johnson, Tiger Woods, Steve Stricker, Jim Furyk, Justin Leonard

Day 1 Results:


  • Phil Mickelson/Anthony Kim, USA , def. Mike Weir/Tim Clark, International, 3 and 2
  • Adam Scott/Ernie Els, International, def. Hunter Mahan, Sean O'Hair, USA, 2 and 1
  • Vijay Singh/Robert Allenby, International, def. Lucas Glover/Stewart Cink, USA, 1-up
  • Kenny Perry/Zach Johnson, USA, def. Angel Cabrera/Camilo Villegas, International, 2-up
  • Tiger Woods/Steve Stricker, USA, def. Ryo Ishikawa/Geoff Ogilvy, International, 6 and 4
  • Retief Goosen/Y.E. Yang, International, halved with Jim Furyk/Justin Leonard, USA

Day 2 Results:


  • Phil Mickelson/Justin Leonard, USA, def. Retief Goosen/Adam Scott, International, 3 and 2
  • Ernie Els/Mike Weir, International, def. Jim Furyk/Anthony Kim, USA, 2-up
  • Ryo Ishikawa/Y.E. Yang, International, def. Kenny Perry/Sean O'Hair, USA, 4 and 3
  • Vijay Singh/Tim Clark, International, def. Lucas Glover/Stewart Cink, USA, 1-up
  • Zach Johnson/Hunter Mahan, USA, def. Robert Allenby/Camilo Villegas, International, 2 and 1
  • Tiger Woods/Steve Stricker, USA, def. Geoff Ogilvy/Angel Cabrera, International, 5 and 3

Day 3 Results:

Morning Foursomes

  • Phil Mickelson/Sean O'Hair, USA, def. Retief Goosen/Camilo Villegas, International, 5 and 3
  • Justin Leonard/Jim Furyk, USA, def. Ernie Els/Adam Scott, International, 4 and 2
  • Robert Allenby/Vijay Singh, International, halved with Stewart Cink/Hunter Mahan, USA
  • Tiger Woods/Steve Stricker, USA, def. Mike Weir/Tim Clark, International, 1-up
  • Y.E. Yang/Ryo Ishikawa, International, def. Kenny Perry/Zach Johnson, USA, 3 and 2

Afternoon Four-balls

  • Anthony Kim/Jim Furyk, USA, def. Angel Cabrera/Adam Scott, International, 2-up
  • Geoff Ogilvy/Robert Allenby, International, def. Stewart Cink/Lucas Glover, USA, 2 and 1
  • Ernie Els/Mike Weir, International, def. Zach Johnson/Justin Leonard, USA, 5 and 3
  • Tiger Woods/Steve Stricker, USA, def. Ryo Ishikawa/Y.E. Yang, International, 4 and 2
  • Vijay Singh/Tim Clark, International, halved with Phil Mickelson/Sean O'Hair, USA

Day 4 Results:


  • Hunter Mahan, USA, def. Camilo Villegas, 2 and 1
  • Stewart Cink, USA, def. Adam Scott 4 and 3
  • Mike Weir, International, halved with Justin Leonard
  • Anthony Kim, USA, def. Robert Allenby, 5 and 3
  • Geoff Ogilvy, International, def. Steve Stricker, 2 and 1
  • Sean O'Hair, USA, def. Ernie Els, 6 and 4
  • Ryo Ishikawa, International, def. Kenny Perry, 2 and 1
  • Tim Clark, International, def. Zach Johnson, 4 and 3
  • Tiger Woods, USA, def. Y.E. Yang, 6 and 5
  • Vijay Singh, International, halved with Lucas Glover
  • Phil Mickelson, USA, def. Retief Goosen, 2 and 1
  • Angel Cabrera, International, def. Jim Furyk, 4 and 3

Player Won-Loss Records

United States

Vijay Singh, 2-0-3
Ernie Els, 3-2-0
Geoff Ogilvy, 2-2-0
Robert Allenby, 2-2-1
Tim Clark, 2-2-1
Ryo Ishikawa, 3-2-0
Mike Weir, 2-2-1
Y.E. Yang, 2-2-1
Angel Cabrera, 1-3-0
Adam Scott, 1-4-0
Retief Goosen, 0-3-1
Camilo Villegas, 0-4-0

Return to Presidents Cup index