1989 Masters Tournament: Faldo's First

Nick Faldo celebrates the winning putt in the 1989 Masters
Nick Faldo celebrates his playoff victory to win the 1989 Masters Tournament. David Cannon/Getty Images

Nick Faldo won his second major championship and first Green Jacket at the 1989 Masters, winning a playoff against Scott Hoch.

Faldo surged up a strong leaderboard in the final round with a 65 that vaulted him past Ben Crenshaw and Greg Norman, who tied for third, and Seve Ballesteros, who finished fourth. That 65 tied Faldo at 5-under-par with Hoch, who himself had a strong final round (69).

Both Norman and Crenshaw missed birdie putts on the final hole that would have put them into the playoff, too.

Hoch was in position to end the playoff on the first extra hole (the 10th), standing over a 2-foot birdie putt to win. But he missed that short putt and the playoff moved to a second hole (the 11th).

Faldo's drive was wild, far to the right of the fairway, and he needed a free drop away from a drain. He hit a 3-iron to the green, 25-feet from the flag, in gathering darkness. Faced with his own birdie putt to win, Faldo didn't miss, and the Masters championship was his.

Faldo was the first Englishman to win The Masters. He began his tournament with a 68, one off the lead set by Lee Trevino. Trevino and Faldo were tied for first following the second round.

Bad weather forced the third round to finish on Sunday morning, and Trevino completed an 81 that dropped him out of contention. Faldo didn't fare that much better, shooting a 77 that dropped him into a tie for ninth place.

But Faldo rebounded with that final-round 65, which included birdies on four of the final six holes, including the 16th and 17th.

And, with some help from Hoch's short playoff miss, he went on to the win.

Hoch's short playoff miss has become one of the best-known "chokes" in golf history.

1989 Masters Scores

Results from the 1989 Masters golf tournament played at the par-72 Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Ga. (x-won playoff):

x-Nick Faldo68-73-77-65 283$200,000
Scott Hoch69-74-71-69 283$120,000
Ben Crenshaw71-72-70-71 284$64,450
Greg Norman74-75-68-67 284$64,450
Seve Ballesteros71-72-73-69 285$44,400
Mike Reid72-71-71-72 286$40,000
Jodie Mudd73-76-72-66 287$37,200
Chip Beck74-76-70-68 288$32,200
Jose Maria Olazabal77-73-70-68 288$32,200
Jeff Sluman74-72-74-68 288$32,200
Fred Couples72-76-74-67 289$25,567
Ken Green74-69-73-73 289$25,567
Mark O'Meara74-71-72-72 289$25,567
Paul Azinger75-75-69-71 290$19,450
Don Pooley70-77-76-67 290$19,450
Tom Watson72-73-74-71 290$19,450
Ian Woosnam74-76-71-69 290$19,450
David Frost76-72-73-70 291$14,000
Tom Kite72-72-72-75 291$14,000
Jack Nicklaus73-74-73-71 291$14,000
Jumbo Ozaki71-75-73-72 291$14,000
Curtis Strange74-71-74-72 291$14,000
Lee Trevino67-74-81-69 291$14,000
Tom Purtzer71-76-73-72 292$10,250
Payne Stewart73-75-74-70 292$10,250
Bernhard Langer74-75-71-73 293$8,240
Larry Mize72-77-69-75 293$8,240
Steve Pate76-75-74-68 293$8,240
Lanny Wadkins76-71-73-73 293$8,240
Fuzzy Zoeller76-74-69-74 293$8,240
Mark Calcavecchia74-72-74-74 294$6,900
Steve Jones74-73-80-67 294$6,900
Dave Rummells74-74-75-71 294$6,900
Hubert Green74-75-76-71 296$6,000
Peter Jacobsen74-73-78-71 296$6,000
Bruce Lietzke74-75-79-68 296$6,000
Bob Gilder75-74-77-71 297$5,400
Tommy Aaron76-74-72-76 298$4,900
Charles Coody76-74-76-72 298$4,900
Raymond Floyd76-75-73-74 298$4,900
Scott Simpson72-77-72-77 298$4,900
Dan Pohl72-74-78-75 299$4,300
George Archer75-75-75-75 300$3,900
Mark McCumber72-75-81-72 300$3,900
Greg Twiggs75-76-79-70 300$3,900
Jay Haas73-77-79-72 301$3,125
Bob Lohr75-76-77-73 301$3,125
Mike Sullivan76-74-73-78 301$3,125
D.A. Weibring72-79-74-76 301$3,125
Corey Pavin74-74-78-76 302$2,800
Andy Bean70-80-77-77 304$2,700
T.C. Chen71-75-76-84 306$2,600

1988 Masters | 1990 Masters

Return to list of Masters Winners