1929 PGA Championship

Recap and Scores for the 1929 PGA Championship Golf Tournament

Defending champion Leo Diegel made it two in a row, beating Johnny Farrell in the 1929 PGA Championship final for his second straight victory in this tournament.

Diegel's title defense wasn't easy - he had to win back-to-back matches again Gene Sarazen and Walter Hagen just to get back into the finals. But Diegel beat Sarazen in the quarterfinals, then dispatched Hagen in the semifinals, winning both matches by a 3-and-2 score.

Hagen's loss was, in a way, the end of an era in the PGA Championship. The 5-time winnner last won the PGA in 1927, and he had a few more tournament victories in him going forward from here. But he failed to win a single match in the PGA Championship during the next decade, the 1930s. He advanced into the match play portion of the tournament five times in the 1930s, but lost in the first round each time. At the 1940 PGA Championship, Hagen made it into Round 3, then played the tournament only twice more after that (failing to win another match).

Diegel beat P.O. Hart and Herman Barron in his first- and second-round matches, while Farrell reached the final with victories over Johnny Golden, Henry Ciuci, Craig Wood and Al Watrous.

The PGA of America's tournament history includes a great example of golf during the era of stymies. During the championship match, the PGA says, Diegel led 1-up on the 27th hole when his putt stopped short of the hole. "(Diegel's) ball stopped in a position that partly covered the cup and blocked Farrell's five-foot putt," the PGA history recounts. "Farrell tried to negotiate the putt around Diegel's ball, but he failed and knocked Diegel's ball into the cup and lost the hole."

Making matters worse for Farrell, the same thing happened on the very next hole. That's when you know that it's probably just not your day, and it wasn't Farrell's day. Diegel won, 6 and 4.

Diegel ended his career with 30 wins that are today recognized as official PGA Tour victories, but his career soon began winding down after the 1929 PGA Championship. Diegel won only six more times, and failed to add any other majors to his back-to-back PGA titles.

Farrell concluded his career with 22 wins, which included one major - the 1928 U.S. Open.

1929 PGA Championship Scores
Results from the 1929 PGA Championship golf tournament played at Hillcrest Country Club in Los Angeles, Calif.:

Championship Match (36 holes)
Leo Diegel def. Johnny Farrell, 6 and 4

Semifinals (36 holes)
Leo Diegel def. Walter Hagen, 3 and 2
Johnny Farrell def. Al Watrous, 6 and 5

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Leo Diegel def. Gene Sarazen, 3 and 2
Walter Hagen def. Tony Manero, 6 and 5
Johnny Farrell def. Craig Wood, 1-up (37 holes)
Al Watrous def. Al Espinosa, 2-up

1928 PGA Championship | 1930 PGA Championship

Back to PGA Championship winners list